Advice and answers from the eCoach Team

A flexible permissions architecture for Users means that you can configure eCoach LMS according to your organisation’s needs. eCoach LMS provides you with full control over assigning user roles within your Campus, including by the following roles:

Note: Depending on your User role, and/or assigned permissions, you may not be able to see any or all parts of some or all of the screens below. For example, if you don’t have the permission to ‘Invite’ Users, you won’t be able to see this option on a number of screens. Regardless, the information below should help expound what you can and can’t do with your current permissions.

New Team Members can be easily added and managed via the Users > Team screen, where you can also easily assign roles to existing Users:

As a Campus or Department Manager you can also invite a team member to collaborate on a specific module, and then restrict access to authoring on only this module (below). Simply “Add Team Members” to the Department containing your Course content, and then select them to assign Edit, Enrol, or Teach permissions (on a specific module):

From the same screen you can also assign Manage, Create, Enrol, and Teach permissions across the entire Department (more about that below).  

To start managing your Team management tools are built into the platform Dashboard from the ‘Users’ tab:

Campus Managers

The Campus Manager has full control of all aspects of the Campus account. To add a new Campus Manager, select the ‘Add Campus Manager’ button:

You can then select from existing Users, or invite new Users to your Campus by using the ‘Add more Users’ button (top right, below):

Existing Users who are checked in this list will be granted “Campus Manager” permissions after selecting the ‘Add Campus Managers’ button. Users who are invited via the ‘Add more Users’ function will be become Campus Managers after creating their accounts. To cancel the action, select the “X” button.

Finance Managers

Finance Managers have access to payment options, and are sent all correspondence regarding billing and payments. This useful for larger organisations where the accounts team don’t need to be involved in the platform, and/or where the Campus Managers don’t need to be involved with billing and payments.

To add a new Finance Manager, select the ‘Add Finance Managers’ button, and then follow the same steps as above.

Department Managers

Adding a User as Department Manager grants them administrative permissions to all entities under this Department, including authoring of all content within the Department.

To add Department Manager, first select ‘Add Team Members’ from within the Department you would like to add them to:

Next, select the “Manage” permission (the Create and Enrol Permissions will be selected by default):

You can then select from existing Users, or invite new Users to your Campus by using the ‘Add more Users’ button (top right, above). Existing Users who are checked in this list will be granted “Department Manager” permissions after selecting the ‘Add Department Managers’ button. Users who are invited via the ‘Add more Users’ function will be become Departments Managers after creating their accounts. To cancel the action, select the “X” button.

Authors / Facilitators

To add collaborating Authors to your account (without the ‘Manager’ permission), there are number of options. Simply follow the same steps for adding a Department Manager (above) and then select one of the other 3 permissions available. Each option grants permissions to do different things within the selected Department:

Create: This allows the User to create new Courses, Lessons and Quizzes, within the Department, however, author rights are not granted on any other Courses under the Department, unless explicitly given (i.e. they can make new Courses, but can’t make changes to anyone else’s material unless someone has asked them to).

Enrol: Allows the User to enrol new users and facilitators to access this content and remove them.

Teach: Allows the User to ‘teach’ content within the Department (i.e. a ‘Facilitator’). Enrolled users’ (aka Participant) answers will be visible and can be graded, and Facilitators may also preview the content themselves.

Course Permissions

As described at the top of this FAQ, Team members can also be invited to collaborate on a specific module, with access restricted to authoring on only this module (as one example), but there are several other options available. Once a User has been added to a Department (with any permission) you can select them and then apply any number of Course Permissions….

After selecting a User, to locate the content you would like to grant or modify permissions on, select the Department from the drop down menu:

Next select the permission that you would like to apply:

Edit: Allows the selected User to change the resource, including modifying all the resource’s content and publishing or reverting changes. Note – this is not the equivalent to a “Create” permission, it only allows changes to made to existing content.

Enrol: Allow the selected User to enrol new users and teachers to access this content and remove them.

Teach: Allow this user to teach this content. Enrolled users’ answers will be visible and can be graded, and teachers may also preview the content themselves.

Module Permissions

Module permissions can also be assigned a singular ‘Edit’ permission from within the Department’s Courses, Lessons, Quizzes or Assignments tabs.

Granting this permission allows this user to change this resource, including modifying all the resource’s content and publishing or reverting changes.

Invite Permission

Lastly, there’s also a special ‘Invite’ permission that can be granted to users who aren’t Campus Managers…

Proceed with caution: granting this permission allows the selected User to Invite new people to your Campus, which will will affect the total number of Active Users in your Campus.

All Users

Under the Users options, you’ll see an “All Users” tab. From this screen you can see every User within your account (including Participants and Non-Active Users). From this screen you can:

  • see when each User last logged in
  • “Add Users” (using the button top right). Note: an invitation won’t be sent to the Users until they are granted a permission within Department, or enrolled as a Participant within a Course
  • Deactivate Users that should no longer be able to access your Campus
  • Resend Invitations (to Users who have an email address, but have not yet activated their account after being granted a permission)

Note: “All Users” is not reflective of Active Users, which can be viewed at all times under the Active Users Report:

For information about Active Users and eCoach pricing, please check out the Active Users FAQ article.

As you can see eCoach LMS has a flexible but powerful permissions structure that allows you to configure an array of possible roles within your Campus or Organisation. If you need help getting setup, please give the support team a shout.

Did this answer your question?